SAVE THE

HISTORIC SAN DIMAS

PACKING HOUSE

THE PACKING HOUSE & CITRUS INDUSTRY

In the early 1900's, San Dimas produced massive amounts of citrus and eventually housed the largest lemon packing house in the world. San Dimas was nicknamed the "Crown of the Citrus Belt" and was considered the world's citrus capital.

San Dimas had 5 packing houses in total, almost all of which have since been destroyed or demolished. The existing structures at the northwest corner of Bonita and Cataract are what remain of the lemon packing house.

 

As residents of San Dimas, we believe what remains of the lemon packing house represents an important part of San Dimas's past. We believe the City should do everything in its power to preserve this historical structure and repurpose it for modern uses.

WHAT'S GOING ON NOW

  • Fall 2019: San Dimas City Council approved moratorium on development for 3 downtown properties, one of which includes what remains of the old packing house, while City considers rezoning

  • January 15, 2020 | Community Meeting: Residents expressed interest in preserving the packing house

  • January 28, 2020 | City Council + Planning Commission Study Session: Saving the packing house did not seem a major priority for decision-makers; it was stated the building has "no historical significance"

HOW CAN YOU HELP?

SIGN UP BELOW TO:

1) Receive emails, so you can stay updated and attend important City meetings,

2) Request a yard sign* to show your support, and 

3) Volunteer to help further our cause.

*Yard signs will be distributed once funds become available.

I would like more information about the following volunteer opportunities:

SIGN THE PETITION

Join your neighbors and sign the petition to save the historic San Dimas Packing House.

CONTACT THE CITY

Let the City know exactly how you feel about saving the packing house! Email the following key players and decision-makers about this important community issue.

Members of the City Council

Mayor Emmett Badar - ebadar@sandimasca.gov

Councilmember Denis Bertone - dbertone@sandimasca.gov

Councilmember John Ebiner - jebiner@sandimasca.gov (recused from voting)

Councilmember Ryan Vienna - rvienna@sandimasca.gov

Councilmember Eric Weber - eweber@sandimasca.gov

Administration

City Manager Brad McKinney - bmckinney@sandimasca.gov

Administration (General) - administration@sandimasca.gov

Planning Department

Director of Community Development Henry Noh - hnoh@sandimasca.gov

Senior Planner Marco Espinoza - mespinoza@sandimasca.gov

*Also: Request that your email be forwarded to the Planning Commission!

SaveThePackingHouse.com

This is a collaboration between the creators of NoBigHotel.com and the Neighborhood Committee for Fair Development.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now